eBlackChampaign-Urbana C.A.S. Appendices
Artifacts: November 5-6 Video

Back to Home Page

Introduction to Symposium by Dr. Abdul Alkalimat, Professor, African-American Studies and Graduate School of Library and Information Science.

Opening remarks by Steve Sonka, Vice Chancellor for Public Engagement

Community Responses by Zernial Bogan, Rev., Salem Baptist Church; President, and Will Kyles, Champaign District 1 Council Member

Response by Kate Williams, Assistant Professor, Library and Information Science

10:15-noon - Community Engagement Rountable. Chair, Dr. Menah Pratt-Clarke, Assistant Chancellor and Director, Office of Equal Opportunity and Access

Dr. Ruby Mendenhall, Assistant Professor, Sociology/African-American Studies

Samuel Smith - Krannert Center for Performing Arts

Kimberlie Kranich - WILL Illinois Public Media

Dr. Ken Salo - Urban and Regional Planning

Brenda Davis Koester, Coordinator, Family Resiliency Center

Michelle Cruz-Santiago - SOAR, Student Opportunities for After School Resources

Otis Noble, III - Office of Equal Opportunity and Access

1-2 - Difference Makers Awards Ceremony, Chair: Noah Lenstra

2-4 – Graduate Student research panel, Chair: Melissa Pognon, Human and Community Development, Department of Urban and Regional Planning.

Chaebong Nam, Curriculum and Instruction, Education;

Michael Burns, Writing Studies, English and African-American Studies;

Kerry Pimblott, History and African-American Studies;

Sydney Stoudmire, Art History;

Vanessa Rouillon, Writing Studies, English;

Ronald Threadgill, Education;

Yolanda Richards, Urban and Regional Planning

9:15-10:30 - Social Services and Digital Technology, Chair: Benita Ann Rollins-Gay of Community Elements, Crisis Line Coordinator

Beverly Baker, United Way of Champaign County

John Roska, Land of Licoln Legal Assistance Fund

Kevin Jackson, Neighborhood Services, City of Champaign

Will Kyles, Champaign District 1 Council Member

10:45-noon - Community Technology Centers, Education, Youth and Technology. Chair: Connie Dillard, UC2B Technical Committee

Sally Carter, Tap-In Academy

Matthew Murrey, Librarian, Urbana High School

Vickie Richardson, librarian, Franklin Middle School

Jason Liggett, Urbana Public Television

David Adcock, Urbana Adult Education

  • Brian Bell, Parkland College

    1 - 2:30 - Religious institutions and technology. Chair, Chris Hamb, Canaan Baptist Church.

    • Joe Lewis, Salem Baptist Church

    • Rev. Lewis, Bethel A.M.E.

    • Camilla Fulton, Canaan Baptist

    Rev. Jerome Chambers, Liberty Temple Ministries

    • Bishop and Dr. Evelyn Underwood, New Free Will Baptist

    • Mr. and Mrs. Poe, Church of the Living God

    • Pastor Johnson, Jericho Missionary Baptist Church

    2:45-4:15 - Community Memory, Groups, Media and Technology. Chair, Tanya Parker, Unity in Action Magazine.

    • Rev. Jerome Chambers, NAACP, Champaign County

    Lynn Randall, National Council of Negro Women

    Joel Gillespie, Smile Politely

    Brian Dolinar and Aaron Ammons, IMC/Public i/CU-CPJ

    Rev. Dr. Eugene Barnes, Metanoia Center

    4:15 – 5:00 – Signing of eBlackChampaign-Urbana Manifesto and Discussion of Next Steps. Chair, Noah Lenstra

    Visit the eBlackCU website!

    This CD was made by Noah Lenstra, Graduate School of Library and Information Science, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, as part of a Certificate of Advanced Study Final Project, February 22, 2011.

    E-mail questions to nlenstr2@illinois.edu